Developing Ideas for my Podcast

For my documentary audio module, my podcast needs to be on the theme of ‘Fear and Hope.’ For this overarching brief I have decided to choose the idea on the fear of heartbreak and relationships in this generation. I find Millennials and Generation Z are the ones who use dating apps the most and suffer the most heartbreak and struggle with relationships.

Why have I chosen this idea?

I chose this idea because as sad it sounds, I have suffered a great deal of heartbreak. Both of my ex-boyfriends have cheated on me and I have had my fair share of heartbreak. Also, I have been on dating apps and still currently go on them day to day. I have the fear of heartbreak occur to me and I hope to meet someone genuine. This is similar to most of my friends, a lot people I know find relationships a big deal and the fear of heartbreak is so common. Some people have a lot of hope on these apps for relationships and finding the one. Even though the stigma for these dating apps is that many people are after one thing, which is not a relationship.

What inspired me?

One thing that inspired me was actually getting heartbroken over the summer and catching feelings for someone who doesn’t like me back. It sounds silly but, it really inspired me as I know a lot of people who have been there. Another thing that inspired me was the Drake song ‘Doing it Wrong.’ The lyrics talk about living in a generation about being in love and not being together, which I think is important as it links to the podcast.

YouTube. (2011). Drake-Doing It Wrong(Full Song). [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfiSW3jfJhA [Accessed 5 Oct. 2019].

 

Leave a comment